<u>Minutes of the Annual General Body Meeting of SSV</u> (Held at National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi on Jun 10, 2019)

The AGM of SSV was held on Jun 10, 2019, at 3.00 pm at NPL for electing new Office bearers and EC members for the period 2019-22. Many SSV members including the present office bearers and EC members attended the meeting. Dr.T.K.Mandal, Scientist, NPL, was appointed the Election Officer and he informed that e-mail was sent to 370 members of SSV informing them about the election of new EC and requesting for nomination of office bearers of EC. Dr.Mandal apprised the SSV members of nominations received through e-mail for SSV EC. Since quorum for AGM was not complete, the meeting was adjourned for some time and resumed later.

The President, Prof. K.L.Chopra, welcomed all members and requested Dr Mandal to initiate SSV-EC election process. The Election Officer began EC election process requesting members to nominate EC members one by one. Prof. K.L.Chopra expressed his desire to relinquish the post of President, SSV. Dr. Indramani Mishra proposed the name of Dr. R.K.Kotnala for President, SSV, which was seconded by Prof. Dinesh Abrol. The new President elect and all the members unanimously requested Prof. Chopra to be the Patron of SSV and Prof. Chopra agreed to it.

Dr. R.K.Kotnala proposed the name of Dr. Vikram Kumar and Dr. Indramani Mishra as Vice Presidents of SSV, which were seconded by Prof. Chopra and they were declared elected. The President elect Dr. R.K.Kotnala proposed the name of Dr. Santa Chawla as secretary of SSV, it was seconded by Dr. Indramani Mishra and Dr. Shubhrima Ghosh. For the post of Joint Secretary, the name of Dr. Ved Varun was proposed by Dr. R.K.Kotnala and seconded by Dr. J.C.Sharma. For the post of Treasurer, the name of Dr. Hari Kishan was proposed by Dr. Indramani Mishra and seconded by Dr. R.K.Kotnala. New Executive Council (EC) members were elected and names of special invitees to EC were consented upon. The election officer Dr. Mandal endorsed the names.

Prof. Chopra congratulated the President elect Dr. R.K.Kotnala and the new office bearers. Dr. R.K.Kotnala welcomed the newly elected team.

(D + + + + + + +)

The newly constituted EC of SSV is as follows:

Duef K I Chemin

Prof. K.L.Chopra	(Patron)
1. Dr. R.K.Kotnala	(President)
2. Dr. Vikram Kumar	(Vice President)
3. Dr. Indramani Mishra	(Vice President)
4. Dr. Santa Chawla	(Secretary)
5. Dr. Ved Varun	(Joint Secretary)
6. Dr. Hari Kishan	(Treasurer)
7. Dr. B.D.Malhotra	(EC Member)
8. Dr. J.C.Sharma	(EC Member)
9. Prof. Dinesh Abrol	(EC Member)
10. Dr Rakesh Singh	(EC Member)
11. Dr. Ashish Agarwal	(EC Member)
12. Dr. Jyoti Shah	(EC Member)
13. Dr. N. Raghuram	(Special Invitee)
14. Dr. V.P.S. Awana	Editor, N & V (Special Invitee)
15. Dr. S. Srivastava	Editor, N & V (Special Invitee)
16. Dr. Shubhrima Ghosh	(Special Invitee)
17. Dr B V Reddi	(Special Invitee)
18. Dr B S Dwivedi	(Special Invitee)
19. Dr Ashok Kumar	(Special Invitee)
20. Dr Ram Kishore	(Special Invitee)

The membership of SSV and accountability of SSV members were discussed. It was discussed that the termination of SSV membership in case of scientific misconduct by a member, should be accorded by SSV. It was agreed upon that a declaration in this regard would be included in the membership form which the applicant must sign before being granted membership of SSV. The application form has to be framed accordingly and put on the SSV website.

AGM was concluded after thanking the election office Dr.T.K.Mandal for conducting the SSV elections successfully.

Minutes of 98th EC meeting held at NPL on June 10,2019

First meeting of the newly elected EC was conducted following the AGM.

Prof. Dinesh Abrol presented the draft on new education policy (NEP) of GOI in a nutshell and it was discussed in the EC. EC members opined that the policy should be discussed in detail and SSV point of view may be forwarded to the concerned authority by 30th June, the deadline for providing input.

Prof. Chopra deliberated about four different issues namely, higher education policy, whether the journals published by the three academies of India could be published under the umbrella of one National journal on each subject, how SSV should deal about the documents sent to SSV by INSA and Academy of Sciences. Also SSV must write a document regarding the procedure that academic institutes must follow to tackle the cases of scientific misconduct of their employees. Prof. Chopra also talked about predatory journals. Dr. Vikram Kumar opined that Academies should continue with their journals and that substandard predatory journals would perish in the log run.

The need for holding seminars on Ethics and related topics were also discussed. Dr.Vikram Kumar suggested that scientists/academicians from different organizations and different cities of India should be inducted to SSV. He also suggested that local chapters of SSV at different cities should be opened and encouraged to sensitize scientific workers about SSV's principles of practice for ethical culture in science education and research.

Dr.Santa Chawla suggested that a Whatsapp group of EC members should be formed for quick exchange of information facilitating proper action. Dr. Shubhrima Gosh suggested that through link of SSV site to Facebook, people may express their opinion. Dr. V.P.S. Awana talked about News and Views current status & its future plans.

EC decided that the bank account of SSV would henceforth be operated by any two of the three newly elected office bearers of SSV namely Dr.R.K.Kotnala (President), Dr.Santa Chawla (Secretary) and Dr.Hari Kishan (Treasurer).

The meeting ended with the suggestion that EC members would go through the NEP and provide their input.

R K Kotnala (President, SSV) Santa Chawla (Secretary, SSV)